Major Concert Series


Saturday, April 9 
Musiqa's Spring Concert at Zilkha Hall in partnership with FotoFest and Houston Cinema Arts Society


Mark Your Calendars for the Market Square Performance of

Michael Gordon's TIMBER

June 3, 2016


Market Square Park 

301 Milam, Houston, Texas 77002


Join us for a free performance of Michael Gordon's Timber, a new work scored for six wooden 2x4s. Cut into different sizes, each one has a slightly different pitch. Called a "simantra," this percussion instrument was first devised by composer Iannis Xenakis. The instrumentation allows the composer and the artists to create the impression that the sound is traveling around by subtly shifting the accent of sound from one player to another. The result is a meditation on sound and rhythm, bringing the physicality, endurance and technique of percussion performance to a new level. Timber had its world premiere on June 16, 2011 at Korzo Theatre in Den Haag, The Netherlands, with the Dutch percussion group Slagwerk Den Haag performing. Information taken from Michael Gordon's music arts organization  Bang On A Can